The One About The Untold Joys of Fatherhood

So I’ve been a dad for about 6 days now.  I’m getting the diaper changing thing down, the burping thing down, and the helping mom thing down (sort of).  I’ve fretted over Zach not eating.  And over-eating.

I read the table of contents of every fatherhood book given to me.  I learned about the joy of falling asleep with him, the joy of calming him when he’s crying, and the joy of making eye contact with him knowing that he can’t really see me.

However, there are two joys that none of the books addressed in their tables of contents.

First is the joy of making up songs for Zach and singing them to him as he falls asleep.  The following are originals:

Zechariiiiiiah, Zechariiiiiiiiah,

Zecha, Zecha, Zecha, Zecha,

Zechariiiiiiah.

That’s one of his favorites. 

I've sung the 'Zechariah' song to him about eight and a half times at this point... he's almost asleep.

 Another is:

Oooooooooooh,

Zach likes to wake up at three,

Zach likes to wake up at three,

There’s daddy to see and diapers to pee,

Sooooooooooooo,

Zach likes to wake up at three.

My wife would like to note that I haven’t yet gotten up with him at three.  I counter with the fact that I don’t mention a.m. in the song.

The second untold joy is that I can now fit my arms around my wife again.

Yes, it’s good to be a daddy.

About Jimmy

The stories herein are about a sentimental 80s child who cried at every showing of ET (the sad part where he was lying in the wash) and his families, then and now. His wife, son, parents, and siblings play their parts well. They have their exits and their entrances. Sometimes their exits are sad, but not as sad as ET.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The One About The Untold Joys of Fatherhood

  1. Cousin Wendy says:

    That’s Great!
    And my husband wonders why his life is a musical. We love to make up songs. It’s in our genes !!

  2. kristi gutzman says:

    You’re right! I totally forgot about three PM!
    Your songs always make me smile. Maybe you’ll get Zach’s first smile…

Leave a Reply

