The One About the Rights of Fathers

I have always loved babies.  Mom tells me the story of how, when I was twenty months old and she first brought Jeannene home, I jumped up and down, screaming, “A baby! A baby! A baby!”

And I loved her.  She smelled like baby powder and clean skin.  I spent as much time as I could kissing her.  “Jimmy, quit kissing that baby!” was a common refrain heard around our house.  When she smiled, I kissed her.  When she frowned, I kissed her.  When she made me mad because she filled her diaper, I kissed her hard to punish her.

And so yesterday Zach and I Skyped with my parents.  I heard, “Jimmy, quit kissing that baby!” and “Jimmy, you’re leaving slobber on that boy’s head.”  I just smiled.  At the memory and the scent of his scalp.  And I kissed him some more, for old times’ sake.

It's Good Being a Daddy!

About Jimmy

The stories herein are about a sentimental 80s child who cried at every showing of ET (the sad part where he was lying in the wash) and his families, then and now. His wife, son, parents, and siblings play their parts well. They have their exits and their entrances. Sometimes their exits are sad, but not as sad as ET.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, Life, memoir, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The One About the Rights of Fathers

  1. Jane says:

    What an amazing thing this is! A couple days ago, as I was about to put Chanoch down in his crib, I smiled into his hair as I thought about it. He’s ours! I’ve kissed other babies. I’ve changed and washed them. But there’s nothing like knowing every crease and wrinkle of your child. The way the spot on his head is darker, the way this ear is shaped, the birth mark here, the tickle spot there…that you’ll know like no one else. Oh yeah, and having the right and privilege to kiss them all the time!
    I can’t wait to meet him.

  2. kristi gutzman says:

    You’re an awesome daddy, by the way.

Leave a Reply

