On One Year Anniversaries

God set Earth’s orbit at 365 because 365 is the perfect taking stock value.  And so now I take stock.  Of married life and the past year.

The Wedding

The sparklers were luke-warm when I forgot the one verse I had to recite at the church you grew up in; when our flower girl put the flowers at your feet as we were greeting the guests after the ceremony, because she was too nervous to do so as she walked down the aisle; and when I swept you off to a two-month long honeymoon in Montgomery, Alabama.

 

And, Kristin, what a year it’s been:

Our road trips were from Minnesota to Alabama to Florida and Georgia, to Kansas (where we’ve lived for nine months), Missouri, and OKC six times to swim twelve.  We drove an 84% empty truck from Los Angeles to Wichita because I wanted my baseball card collection.

Our folks spoke at the reception in the barn with the fresh litter of kittens and 80 of your closest friends, and my family

Cake in the barn, July 5, 2010.

I came home from lunch one day in Alabama.  I was excited to eat some peanut butter chocolate Cheerios.  You stopped me just inside the door.  “I’ll be eating for two for the next nine months.”  And our family was begun.

Two weeks pregnant; glowing before showing.

Stone Mountain, Georgia had some good hiking and a famous laser light show that “looks like an old screen saver.”

In front of the homage to the south.

We went to three pro baseball games and caught one foul ball.

Nationals v. Cardinals on the night Pujols hit his 400th home run.

We found a solid church in Wichita as you grew full in front.

Purple is the family color; when I come up with a crest it will have a cross, a baseball, and be purple.

You saw all four days and twelve witnesses of my first court case.  Win or lose, you smiled and told me I did a good job.

You called me at work at 4:30, “I think my water broke about three hours ago.  I made you dinner.  Can you take me to the hospital?”  I pondered the answer.

Zach came blue and small and tuned pink and full; crying, but lovely.

I think we'll keep him!

Your family and my family came.  Our family took over and we get to raise this son.

And now, we celebrate a year… I’m thinking Logan’s.  And another sixty.

Yours,

Jimmy

About Jimmy

The stories herein are about a sentimental 80s child who cried at every showing of ET (the sad part where he was lying in the wash) and his families, then and now. His wife, son, parents, and siblings play their parts well. They have their exits and their entrances. Sometimes their exits are sad, but not as sad as ET.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Life, memoir and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On One Year Anniversaries

  1. Adrienne says:

    Whew! Eventful ~ and deeply blessed. May God grant you many, many, many more wonderful years. As I approach my 28th anniversary, I know how powerful it is when love grows, matures and deepens…and that’s my prayer for you and your bride!

  2. Dianna says:

    Sweet post. Loved reading your memories of the past year. Happy Anniversary!
    Oh, and I went to Stone Mountain once – in the early 70’s; you were just a gleam in your dad’s eye!

  3. kristi gutzman says:

    Yes, another sixty, please!
    I do love notes from you, James.

Leave a Reply

