On Growing Up as the World’s Worst Easter Basket/Egg Hunter: Ages 4, 2, 1, and 36

By the time I was four, my two year-old sister, Jean, was better at finding Easter baskets than I was.

We’d wake up early and I’d knock her over as we ran down the hall.  We searched for our baskets.  I frantically opened cupboards and tore the pillows off the couches as I listened to Jean squeal as she found hers.

“You want help, Jimmy?” she’d ask.

“I already know where it is,” I’d say.  “I just don’t like being first at everything.”  Invariably, she’d find mine first anyway and I suffered through the humiliation of her saying, “Jimmy, you’re getting warmer.”

And then we’d go on an Easter egg hunt.  Jean had a habit of counting how many eggs she had found.  She was usually up to seven or eight by the time I found my first one.  When she’d get to about ten, I’d start throwing oranges in my basket and counting them.

This is pathetic little Jimmy picking up an orange. Look how obvious that yellow egg is, just sitting there.

After she had around 15, she’d go set her basket down and point out eggs for me.

There she is, once again pointing out an egg that I just walked by.

And today was my first Easter with Zach.  Kristi hid our baskets and Zach, who’s almost one, found his basket first.

It's not exactly fair that Zach's basket was right at his eye level.

He's pretty happy with his take.

I take solace in the fact that even Zach thinks my Easter basket had better loot in it.

He may have gotten a dog with bunny ears, but he probably really wanted baseball cards from 1981.

About Jimmy

The stories herein are about a sentimental 80s child who cried at every showing of ET (the sad part where he was lying in the wash) and his families, then and now. His wife, son, parents, and siblings play their parts well. They have their exits and their entrances. Sometimes their exits are sad, but not as sad as ET.
This entry was posted in 2nd Grade, Life, memoir, Nostalgia, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to On Growing Up as the World’s Worst Easter Basket/Egg Hunter: Ages 4, 2, 1, and 36

  1. inkline says:

    Babe! I didn’t know you had a history of trouble finding Easter baskets! I’ll put it on your eye level next year.
    But I was hoping you might fold the laundry on your way to finding your basket…

  2. Mom says:

    Don’t feel bad, Jim. I think it’s a male thing. Remember how you would ask where something was and I would say “It’s in the closet, or the refrigerater, or the pantry”. you’d always come back ten minutes later and say you couldn’t find it. So I would ask your sister to get it for you and she would say “It was right there in the closet, or the refrigerater, or the pantry”. Im pretty sure Kristi has noticed this problem and it won’t be long until Zach does the same thing. Good thing he’s going to have a little sister to help him.
    Love you guys….

  3. Don’t feel too bad, little girls are just naturally more observant by nature, than little boys.
    Great story…it made me laugh 😀

  4. Dianna says:

    Once again, your story made me smile. As did your mother’s comment. Your wife’s comment, on the other hand, made me laugh.
    Looks like a wonderful Easter – and what a cutie that Zach is!

  5. annewoodman says:

    I say–how many employers have asked about your Easter egg finding skills? Both of my kids are terrible at hide-and-seek. At least until last month, they had to make noises to give clues about where they were hiding, or they might have missed heading off to college before they were found. Hopefully, Zach’s sibling will be on par with him for holiday harmony!

  6. Dor says:

    My husband can look right at something and not see it. Maybe, as your Mom says, “it’s a male thing.” Meanwhile, your young Easter Basket/Egg Hunts make for a funny funny story and as always, you had me laughing out loud.

  7. Adrienne says:

    I think I’ve birthed the one male exception to this rule…(and the female exception to the other rule, it must be said.) My kid has always known where everything he owns is, and is relentless until he finds something. We searched for DAYS the gutters (literally) on the street where we lived in Paris
    until he FOUND (yes, actually found) the white gun that went with one of his power rangers (less
    than an inch in length the thing was…) I’m impressed with your wife who found baseball cards like
    that for your easter basket!! And LOVE Zach’s enthusiasm!!!! As baseball season starts, here’s a post of mine you might enjoy: http://mymemoryart.blogspot.com/2012/04/game-on.html

    • Jimmy says:

      I loved that post! I’m glad there are exceptions to this gender stereotype/rule. Hopefully, our daughter will also be able to find things much better than I can.

  8. Kerry Wester says:

    Just once I would like to hear what Jean has to say.

  9. I like the second to the last picture — it brought an instant smile to my face..he looks like he just won an important football game =)

  10. Hiding the baskets? I didn’t know that was done… I’m so gonna have to do that next year! Sounds so much MORE fun!! 🙂

  11. So funny – I tormented my own little brother the same way when we were little…now we laugh our heads off at it (and how my own two little ones are following in our footsteps!)

  12. granbee says:

    Jimmy, Jean, and Zack are all wonderfully loveable folk who deserve lots of Easter goodies all year!

Leave a Reply

