CHiPs and Truck Noises

I quit panicking when dad lit the barbecue around six-thirty on Sunday afternoons in the early 80s; Chicken or ribs or steak.  My current event or book report was still due the next morning, but the charcoal smell meant it was time to throw the baseball around a bit or climb the treehouse for an orange to help dad add some citrus flavor.

I learned to catch dad’s curveball on Sunday evenings, it spun more than it curved.  Jeff and I sometimes rode bikes and went off makeshift jumps before he went home to his mom’s for the week.

Look ma, one hand!

Just after dad declared the coals were ready and began scrubbing the grill, mom called that CHiPs was starting.  We ran to the sliding glass door.

During the whole theme song, we ran around the living room riding pretend motorcycles and making wholly unrealistic motorcycle noises.

Around the second commercial break, dad brought the meat in, smoky and a little too salty.  We turned the TV off and spent time as a family.

After dinner, I said goodbye to Jeff and got to work on my book report.

In my head, I was still riding a motorcycle and catching bad guys.

Zach likes to drive his truck around.  His truck noises sound eerily familiar.

About Jimmy

The stories herein are about a sentimental 80s child who cried at every showing of ET (the sad part where he was lying in the wash) and his families, then and now. His wife, son, parents, and siblings play their parts well. They have their exits and their entrances. Sometimes their exits are sad, but not as sad as ET.
This entry was posted in 2nd Grade, fatherhood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to CHiPs and Truck Noises

  1. inkline says:

    You guys must have made your parents smile almost as often as Zach makes us smile. What a guy Zach is. But of course, what a guy he is the son of.

  2. Oh that cutie pie and that lovely truck noise..is there anything more beautiful than this 🙂

  3. Dor says:

    Zach is so adorable! And I can understand why his truck noises remind you of yesteryear. Once again you have pasted an almost permanent smile on my face. Thanks for sharing.

  4. SO cute 😉 Thanks for sharing… I miss my guys being little… but at 16, 15 and 13 they still make car noises hehehe

  5. granbee says:

    Yes, somehow time just does not alter those “vroom-vrooms”, does it? Wonderful memories you share. I remember how my older elementary school daughter used to have a crush on the blond guy on CHiPs!

  6. Dave Scholtz says:

    Thank you for sharing, Zach I love your truck noises. Hope you are feeling better from those shots.

  7. Kerry Wester says:

    It always amazed me how all of my boys knew from infancy how to make truck noises. They also came out throwing. And strangely enough, the noises got louder as they grew and their throwing arms got stronger. I marvel at the distance they can throw a ball now now and always say a prayer of thanks as their engine noises on the real cars wake me up at night when they drive into the driveway.

Leave a Reply

