On Getting New Toys and Appreciating the Old Ones

In October of 1982, I turned 7 and unwrapped a life altering gift:  the original He-man.  He was muscular and good with sandy blond hair.  When you pulled back on his arm and let go, his torso whipped around and delivered a power punch.  He came with a shield and two weapons:  a sword and a battle-axe.  He could protect any of my sister’s dolls.

In the coming weeks, I bought evil figures like Skeletor, Beastman, and Mer-man.  He-man could take on all three of them by himself.  He became even greater when I bought Battle-Cat for him to ride into battle, and then for Christmas, I unwrapped Castle Grayskull, He-man’s center of power.

I played with He-Man off and on for a couple of years in battles with siblings, friends, and evil warriors.  Through his battles, some of his paint chipped and his joints became loose and I lost his shield and his sword didn’t fit so well in his hand.

Then, in 1984, a new figure was released.  He was called Battle Armor He-Man.  He looked like the regular He-Man, but with a chest that showed battle damage when he got hit.  I saved my lunch money for a week, added my allowance, and bought him that weekend.

He was glorious.  Battle Armor He-Man crushed the evil warriors.  He was new and shiny and when you pulled back on his arm and let go, his torso whipped around and delivered a power punch.

For weeks on weeks I played with Battle Armor He-Man.  The original He-Man was relegated to the toy box.  Once he even had to play on the side of the evil warriors because Battle Armor He-Man was so dominant.

And then, one day, of a sudden, as I pulled Battle Armor He-Man out of the toy box, I saw the loose-legged original He-Man sitting there.  And it hurt me.  My old friend and powerful fighter for good.  I picked him up and set him on Battle Cat next to Battle Armor He-Man.  They traveled to Castle Grayskull and talked.  They found they had a lot in common.  They had the same parents, lived in the same house.  One was newer and looked a little different, but they were on the same side.  And fought together from then on out.

About Jimmy

The stories herein are about a sentimental 80s child who cried at every showing of ET (the sad part where he was lying in the wash) and his families, then and now. His wife, son, parents, and siblings play their parts well. They have their exits and their entrances. Sometimes their exits are sad, but not as sad as ET.
This entry was posted in Life, memoir, Nostalgia, Topeka Dr and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On Getting New Toys and Appreciating the Old Ones

  1. inkline says:

    Yes, soon Zach will have Angelica by his side to wrestle you to the ground as soon as you get home from work. And fighting with him when I suggest they finish their beans before you give them the chocolate chips. But first she needs to start sleeping through the night.

  2. Maxi says:

    Angelica is a beautiful baby, and Zach looks so protective. Between him the He-Men she will always be safe.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

  3. Siblings are the best kind of team-mates in life. Sharon

  4. Dianna says:

    Oh yes, I remember all those He-man figures. Love the pics – especially the one of you & Zach with the pink balloon! Congrats again!

  5. Hermionejh says:

    You’re writing is beautiful. Thank you. Jerri

  6. Hermionejh says:

    and I’m an idiot. YOUR writing is beautiful, but not my spelling… ugh

  7. colonialist says:

    Loyalty to old friends – though they be toys – is a beautiful thing.
    Wish I’d had anything nearly as fancy to play with when I was young. Wrong era – one of severe austerity.

  8. Touching memory, beautiful pictures of your kids. Great analogy between them. Kind of reminds me of ‘Toy Story’. I’m sure your son will play the big brother protector until she’s old enough to fight for herself. Then it will be the two against the world! 🙂

  9. dorannrule says:

    I truly love the child in your stories – you and yours! And I think you are the He-Man in your house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

