Twelve Things I Will Teach My Son

1.  The lyrics to ‘Come Thou Fount’

2.  How to throw a 12-6 curveball

3.  The knight moves two up and one over or one up and two over

4.  King Lear is 8.2 times better than Hamlet and 46 times better than Romeo and Juliet;  Gloucester is a jerk

5.  Chicken tastes better if you eat it with your fingers

6.  High-fives and hugs are always appreciated

7.  William Bouguereau

8.  You can lead trump, but you’ll probably ruin your bid

9.  Halcyonity is not retroactive; and Tuesday was one of the days you’ll cherish when you’re older

10.  Sunrises are better than sunsets because the dawn portends

11.  Enjoy the shadows on the wall but realize that Kierkegaard > Hegel

12.  In our tolerant, non-judgmental world, there’s still right and wrong; and you must dip, then shake, then bite your cookie

About Jimmy

The stories herein are about a sentimental 80s child who cried at every showing of ET (the sad part where he was lying in the wash) and his families, then and now. His wife, son, parents, and siblings play their parts well. They have their exits and their entrances. Sometimes their exits are sad, but not as sad as ET.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, Life, memoir, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Twelve Things I Will Teach My Son

  1. Maxi says:

    This video is too precious, makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. Dip, shake, n’ bite. I’m gonna remember this.

    Blessings to all ~ Maxi

  2. Dianna says:

    The video made me smile…. I’m not familiar with some of the items on your list, but “Come Thou Fount” was always one of my favorite hymns to play on the piano at church! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Debbie says:

    Yours is the only blog I read 🙂 Just sayin’

  4. Dor says:

    You MUST save this to show Zach when he’s older. He’s a quick study and will go far. 🙂

  5. BTW, I have a ‘Look Challenge’ for you. If you decide to accept it, drop by for details. 🙂

  6. colonialist says:

    I wouldn’t have the slightest idea how to throw a curveball. I suppose that makes me an unfit parent. *sob*

Leave a Reply

