Foraging Ahead

The Christmas tree browned when we went to SoCal for two weeks, even though I filled it to the brim before leaving.  It was a good wedding, sunny and windy and hopeful.  Zach played with his cousins and ate too much cheese bread.

Our family at Uncle Nate and Aunt Priscilla's wedding!

Our family at Uncle Nate and Aunt Priscilla’s wedding!

I moved the tree to the backyard; it’s leaning against our unusable porch swing and will be there for at least a week.  I will vacuum soon.

I glimpse ’12 in flashes, anachronistically:  1.  Anna’s birth.  2.  The ferry to Alaska.  3.  Chocolate peanut butter balls.  4.  Zach’s new glove.  5.  The Grand Canyon trip.

But ’13 unfolds clear and strong, orderly and right:  1.  I will build a dining room table, big for a growing family and of pine or fir because it’s cheap and I’m not very good at building things.  2.  When the sun returns and the porch swing is usable again, I will take my family to Denali and we will look at the mountain and run in crunchy pine needles.  3.  I will teach Zach to use his new glove, flipping it up for pop-flies and keeping it down for grounders.  4.  I will teach Anna to walk and talk and figure out her “I’m going to spit up” look in time to hand her to her mother.  5.  I will love and serve Kristi.

I will do all of the above while eating less chocolate and more pepperoncini.

But now, now I will vacuum.

About Jimmy

The stories herein are about a sentimental 80s child who cried at every showing of ET (the sad part where he was lying in the wash) and his families, then and now. His wife, son, parents, and siblings play their parts well. They have their exits and their entrances. Sometimes their exits are sad, but not as sad as ET.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Foraging Ahead

  1. inkline says:

    Thank you. Smiling toward another year of being yours.

  2. colonialist says:

    You have a good plan mapped out … although I am a bit doubtful about the vacuuming!

  3. paralaxvu says:

    Here;s to you and your good resolutions. An idea, from one not-so-good builder to another—find an interesting old door at a thrift store or salvage yard and get a thick piece of glass cut to fit (with the right kind of edges that are smooth and safe) and use it for the tabletop. Maybe paint it a color to compliment your other furnishings. Ikea has lots of different table legs, as do most local lumber yards. Or just find the whole table at a thrift or salvage store. Habitat for Humanity is another suggestion, if there’s one near you. …See, my mind is much fuller of ideas than resolutions;-)

  4. Pingback: Pressing Forward on the Resolutions: Table Part 1 | Stories About My Life, 92% True

Leave a Reply

